Jurnal

The Dreamer and A Hero

Lupita Nyong'o dan Matthew McConaughey. (Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP)

Lupita Nyong’o dan Matthew McConaughey. (Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP)


Aku nggak pernah benar-benar ngikutin acara penghargaan-penghargaan gitu sebelum ini. Ya ikut rame cuap-cuap, tapi untuk sungguh-sungguh ngikutin kayaknya baru kemarin sewatu 86th Academy Awards. Tradisi yang ada di acara tersebut adalah pidato kemenangan. Ha! Pidato setelah pemenang dipanggil ke atas panggung dan menerima piala bergengsi tersebut. Dari acara kemarin, Jared Leto, Best Supporting Actor, ngasih pidato yang keren dan haru. Tapi, ada dua pidato dari belasan yang nempel banget di gue, yaitu milik Lupita Nyong’o dan Matthew McConaughey.

Aku ngebahas ini secara personal, bukan mengkritisi dan menilai karena itu udah dilakukan media. Rasanya aneh banget pidato dinilai begitu. Tapi aku nggak akan ngomongin itu, karena nanti ujung-ujungnya malah menghakimi sendiri.

Kenapa pidato Lupita nempel ke aku: karena dia bicara tentang mimpi. Kadang-kadang ada satu titip ketika kamu ngerasa nggak punya kesempatan lagi untuk bermimpi–sebab apa yang disebut: realitas. Makanya, senang banget ketika ada seseorang yang percaya kekuatan mimpi dan mau ngingetin tentang itu.

Sementara untuk Matthew, aku rasa lebih personal lagi. Ya, aku suka dia. Tapi, apa yang bikin aku kayak ditoyor adalah ketika dia ngomongin tentang ‘hero’ yang adalah dirinya sendiri 10 tahun ke depan. Aku punya blog lain, yang aku namai ‘Hero of The Drama‘. Inget banget kenapa aku namai kayak gitu, karena aku suka banget salah satu kalimat di lagunya Regina Spektor yang berjudul Hero: ‘I am the hero of the story don’t need to be saved.’. Dan pidato dia malam itu, ngingetin aku lagi kenapa namain blog aku seperti itu.

Ketika kamu punya mimpi, kamu harus percaya diri untuk bisa mendapatkannya. Dan itu, hanya jika kamu jadi pahlawan untuk dirimu sendiri. Hidupmu adalah hidupmu.

Pidato Lupita Nyong’o ketika mendapatkan Best Supporting Actress.

“Thank you to the Academy for this incredible recognition. It doesn’t escape me for one moment that so much joy in my life is thanks to so much pain in someone else’s. And so I want to salute the spirit of Patsey for her guidance. And for Solomon, thank you for telling her story and your own.

Steve McQueen, you charge everything you fashion with a breath of your own spirit. Thank you so much for putting me in this position, it’s been the joy of my life. [Tears, applause.] I’m certain that the dead are standing about you and watching and they are grateful and so am I.

Chiwetel, thank you for your fearlessness and how deeply you went into Solomon, telling Solomon’s story. Michael Fassbender, thank you so much. You were my rock. Alfre and Sarah, it was a thrill to work with you. Joe Walker, the invisible performer in the editing room, thank you. Sean Bobbitt, Kalaadevi, Adruitha, Patty Norris, thank you, thank you, thank you — I could not be here without your work.

I want to thank my family, for your training [laughs] and the Yale School of Drama as well, for your training. My friends the Wilsons, this one’s for you. My brother Junior sitting by my side, thank you so much, you’re my best friend and then my other best friend, my chosen family.

When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid. Thank you.”

Pidato Matthew McConaughey ketika mendapatkan Best Actor.

“There are three things I need each day. One, I need something to look up to, another to look forward to, and another is someone to chase.

First off, I want to thank God because that’s who I look up. He’s graced my life with opportunities. He’s shown me that it’s a scientific fact that gratitude reciprocates.

To my family is to what I look forward to. To my father [James] who I know is up there right now with a big pot of gumbo, he has a big lemon meringue pie over there. He’s probably in his underwear and has a big can of Miller Lite and he’s dancing right now. To you dad, you taught me how to be a man. To my mother [Mary] who’s here tonight, who taught me and my two older brothers — demanded — that we respect ourselves. And in turn we were able to learn how to respect others. Thank you for that mama.

And to my hero. That’s who I chase. When I was 15 years old I had a very important person in my life come and ask me ‘Who’s your hero?’” he continued. “I said, ‘I thought about it and it’s me in ten years. So I turned 25 ten years later and that same person comes to me and goes, ‘Are you a hero?’ I said, ‘Not even close!’ She said why and I said, ‘My hero is me at 35.’ You see, every day, and every week, and every month, and every year of my life my hero is always ten years away. I’m never going to be my hero. I’m not going to obtain that and that’s fine with me because it keeps me with somebody to keep on chasing.”

So to any of us, whatever those things are and whatever it is we look up to, whatever it is we look forward to and whoever it is we’re chasing, to that I say alright, alright, alright. And just keep living. You know?”

Hero by Regina Spektor

Leave a Reply

